Skip directly to content

Meet the Steering Committee

Meet the Steering Committee*

Charles Argoff, MD

Professor of Neurology
Albany Medical College
Albany, NY

Read More

Penney Cowan

Founder and CEO
American Chronic Pain
Association (ACPA)
Rocklin, CA

Read More

Yvonne D'Arcy, MS, CRNP, CNS

Nurse Practitioner
Suburban Hospital
Johns Hopkins Medicine
Bethesda, MD

Read More

Bill H. McCarberg, MD

Adjunct Assistant Clinical
University of California, San
Practicing Physician
Elizabeth Hospice and
Neighborhood Healthcare
San Diego, CA

Read More

Sandy Robertson, PharmD

Clinical Pharmacist
Carolinas HealthCare System
Cabarrus Family Medicine
Concord, NC

Read More

Steven P. Stanos, Jr, DO

Medical Director
Swedish Pain Services
Occupational Medicine Services
Swedish Health System
Seattle, WA

Read More

Marcia Lee Taylor

Senior Vice President, Director
of Government Affairs
Partnership at
New York, NY

Read More

The Rethink Opioids initiative was developed through the collaboration of a Steering Committee and the sponsor of the initiative, Pfizer Inc. This collaborative effort is referred to as PROJECT ROOT.

The PROJECT ROOT Steering Committee is a diverse, distinguished panel of professionals who seek to make a real difference with respect to the problem of prescription opioid abuse. Comprising clinicians, academicians, and patient advocates, the Committee met to discuss the scope of the problem and, importantly, to begin developing practical approaches to the problem of opioid prescribing for patients with chronic pain. The information, tools, and resources you will find here are a product of the Steering Committee’s work and their collaboration with the sponsor of the initiative, Pfizer Inc.

Select a Steering Committee member to view a brief biography, and watch this brief video to hear from Committee members regarding why they joined PROJECT ROOT.

*The PROJECT ROOT Steering Committee members or their organizations are compensated by Pfizer for their participation.